28. Romance in books and films

I have just seen in the Guardian a review of a film “Norwegian Wood” based on the book of the same title by the Japanese writer Haruki Murakami.

I like very much this author and I loved the book, which is the reason why I feel kind of reluctant to see the film.

  • Do you feel the same way? Are you reluctant to see a film if you have previously read the book?
  • Do you think a good book can be turned into a good film?
  • Have you ever felt disappointed after watching a film based on a book you liked?
  • Has a good film ever made you want to read the book?

Watch the trailer. Is it the kind of film you would like to see? why? why not?

Well, I cannot recommed to you Norwegian Wood, I have not seen it yet, but I certainly recommend the book to you.

I’m sure you all know  the Internet gives you the opportunity to leaf through books on line.

  • Have you ever tried going to Amazon and read a couple of pages of a book you are interested in?

I did a search for you, in case you liked to read the first page of Norwegian Wood on line,

You can also look for the music that inspired Murakami to give the book its title and use it as background music while you read.




  • Which book or film dealing with romance and love would you recommend to your friends?
  • Post your comments  and suggestions to the blog.

Have a nice weekend!

This entry was posted in listening, reading, Videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to 28. Romance in books and films

  1. As for love books I would recommend a book by John Green called “Looking for Alaska”. It’s not essentially a love book, but it does base a story on an teenager who falls in love with a girl and gets obsessed over her.

    I don’t usually enjoy love books as they’re usually written for a certain public I don’t feel a part of; I detested every twilight book -and I read them all just in case it got better in the end- and every F. Moccia book I read because I just think the stories written in there are too non-realistic, they’re not real stories, they’re narrated love cliches.

    If I had to recommend a love book I would recommend “13 Little Blue Envelopes” by Maureen Johnson or “Anna and the French Kiss” by Stephanie Perkins.

  2. First of all I want to say that I LOVE Murakami, and I’d recommend his book “After Dark” to anyone willing to read a good book as it’s not very long, not too difficult to understand and I think it’s very good.

    Do you feel the same way? Are you reluctant to see a film if you have previously read the book?
    I am always reluctant to see a film if I’ve read the book before. I’m always disappointed when I go to the cinema to watch a movie based on a book. The movie lacks the flexibility of one’s imagination, and it lacks all the magic a book’s got.

    Do you think a good book can be turned into a good film?
    I think so, but I think it’s easier to turn a good book into a bad movie or to turn a bad book into a pretty good movie instead of that.

    Have you ever felt disappointed after watching a film based on a book you liked?
    Yes. For instance I’d read “The wild things” (the novel about the screenplay of “Where the Wild things are”, by Maurice Sendak.) And I thought the way it projected the world through Max’s eyes was fantastic, and then I watched the movie and It had nothing to do with that. Of course the main story was the same, but the movie had a very light approach to the little boy’s psychology as it was meant to be a movie for kids, even though the book was not for kids.

    Has a good film ever made you want to read the book? Yes, I read the book “The Prestige” after watching its movie and I liked them both.

    As usual I found a youtube channel in which this guy called Matt does movie vs. book reviews. They’re very good and very complete: he analyzes every aspect of the books and the movies. I follow him on youtube as I think he’s very interesting.

    Here’s his channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/bandgeek8408

    I recommend watching his review on the book I mentioned before, as It’s really interesting but not too long (his movie vs book reviews are usually 10 minutes long).

  3. Joseca says:

    For the people who likes read fiction books, I recommend this : Dune, i really love it and i think that the authors are genius, but be aware that is not short, I have read lots of them (first 8 in chronological order) and the shortest book has only 450 pages!
    there is a list of the books
    Dune, original
    Dune (1965)
    Dune Messiah (1969)
    Children of Dune (1976)
    God Emperor of Dune (1981)
    Heretics of Dune (1984)
    Chapterhouse: Dune (1985)
    Hunters of Dune (2006)
    Sandworms of Dune (2007)

    Prelude to Dune series:
    *House Atreides (1999)
    *House Harkonnen (2000)
    *House Corrino (2001)

    Legends of Dune series:
    *The Butlerian Jihad (2002)
    *The Machine Crusade (2003)
    *The Battle of Corrin (2004)

    Heroes of Dune series:
    *Paul of Dune (2008)
    *The Winds of Dune (2009)

    and i can tell in advance that there are more than 100 books more from other authors that explain parallel histories from the characters.

  4. nordinzf says:

    Oh! I think that I’ve read a book of this writter… I don’t remember the title and sincerely, I fell laziness to go to the room to see this… The author I think that is the same (I’m horrible to remember the japanesse and xinesse names). The book was about the life of a boy (studiant) in Japan. The book was a bit romantic and a little crazy.

    Actually, I claim that a good film can be made from a good book, but a good book can not be maked from a good film. Nevertheless, I think that reading books do that you imaginate the story (of the book ) a bit special. The story imaginated by you has a very strong characteristic, the one that you imagine perfect story; perfect characters, the perfect places, the perfect voices, etc. And if you read one bokk and you think in that specials things ( for example the perfect place or the perfect girl/boy) and view the film, sincerally, I think that you’d fell dissappointed; is extremally probable that the film wasn’t who ou imaginate the story, because ever person imagine the story from their pint of view, and the film is made from the point of view of the director of the film. And surely, the perfect world of this person not coincide with the one of you.

    • nordinzf says:

      Well, I’m sorry. I’ve searched the title of the book and, of course, is of this writter. The title is “Tokio Blues” and have the subtitle “Norwegian Wood”. I don’t nkow if is this film of the book. I’ve searched images of the film annd I think that is the same.
      Certainly, the book is very very large… The book has approximately 390-400 pages.

  5. lauraantich says:

    Do you think a good book can be turned into a good film?
    In my opinion it is not impossible but it is very difficul because when a person read a book she or he imagines everything that is happening in the story they are reading at the moment.
    Doing a good film it is not easily. The director has to translate his or her imagination and it is very difficult.

  6. -Have you ever tried going to Amazon and read a couple of pages of a book you are interested in?
    No I haven’t in Amazon.com, but if I’m interested in a book I prefer to look for it in google books or other pages for make sure that it is the kind of book that I’m looking for.
    Which book or film dealing with romance and love would you recommend to your friends?
    I would recommend “the pillards of the world”, it is related with love and romance, but it is not the main thing of the book, I’d like to recomend it for the history, that is exciting!

  7. -Do you feel the same way? Are you reluctant to see a film if you have previously read the book?
    Yes, I do, for example when I read “El niño del pijama a rallas”, I was so nervous before the film was on the cinamas, because I realy like the book and I expect that the film was as good as the book.
    Few days after the film premiere I had heard lots of critics, and I refus to saw it, but then I couldn’t resist and I saw it. It was like I expect, so I was very pleased.
    -Do you think a good book can be turned into a good film?
    Yes, I do. For turn a book into a film you have to look for the main ideas and then project it well, it’s dificult, but not imposible!
    -Have you ever felt disappointed after watching a film based on a book you liked?
    Yes I had. In Harry Potter 5, the book talks a lot about the hause of the Phonix Order, and I realy wanted see how they could create it. When I saw it I felt very disappointed because it appears just five minutes along the film!
    -Has a good film ever made you want to read the book?
    Yes, It had. For examle, I want to read the lord of the rings since I saw the films, but now I don’t have enought time.
    -Watch the trailer. Is it the kind of film you would like to see? why? why not?
    No it isn’t. I don’t like romantic films, and that one seems to be a slow one, the combination of the two things I hate in a film!

  8. jajajaj I totally agree with francesco

  9. Firstly, I have to admit that i’m not a regular reader. But I think, always is better the book than the movie because you can imagine the history and surrounding environment in a diferent way that in the film, and later, when you see the movie you can feel disappointed.
    hahaha its funny! I had the same problem with the Lord of the Rings and Xisca xd
    ——>Can’t you think of a good romantic film to recommend your classmates?
    I recommend “Cinema Paradiso”, the most beautiful film with a great soundtrack!

  10. lauraramis says:

    Do you feel the same way? Are you reluctant to see a film if you have previously read the book?
    No, I don’t. I always watch the films which are made after the books.

    Do you think a good book can be turned into a good film?
    Yes, but the book is always better than the film!

    Have you ever felt disappointed after watching a film based on a book you liked?
    Disappointed is not the word. The films omit a lot of details. When you read a book you can imagin all the things, watching a film you can’t do this.

    Has a good film ever made you want to read the book?
    I prefer read the book and after watch the film because by this way you can imagin all things.

    I really recommend the film “The Notebook” (“El diario de Noa”), but I think everybody know this film. It is a film which is made after a book.

  11. Do you feel the same way? Are you reluctant to see a film if you have previously read the book?
    I like read and I like the cinema too. I don’t have any problem if I have previously read the book before see the film but it is true, films are usually worse than the books.
    Do you think a good book can be turned into a good film?
    Well, I think when you read a book and you consider it a good book is due to the idea that you create in your head and when you see the movie usually disappoint you because it’s not what you expected or you imagined.

  12. Do you feel the same way? Are you reluctant to see a film if you have previously read the book?
    No,I also read books only when I am forced as Luisa and Albert said but one time I read the ten first pages of twilight but I prefered to watch the movie without have finished reading the book.

    Do you think a good book can be turned into a good film?
    I think so, but in books alwayst there are more details.

    Have you ever felt disappointed after watching a film based on a book you liked?
    well I can’t answer this question because as I said before I don’t read books.

    Has a good film ever made you want to read the book?
    No.

    Have you ever tried going to Amazon and read a couple of pages of a book you are interested in?
    No, I didn’t know this page so I never have tried to read any book in Amazon.

  13. luisadelgado says:

    Do you feel the same way? Are you reluctant to see a film if you have previously read the book?
    Well, I don’t read many books, as Albet says, I just read books that I’m forced to read, and I think I have never seen a film after reading the book, so I can’t be reluctant to see a film based on a book because I’m sure I wouldn’t read the book before.
    Do you think a good book can be turned into a good film?
    Yes, I think it’s possible, but it depends on the director, the producers, the screenwriters, and many more aspects which are difficult to coordinate.
    It hasn’t happened yet, but maybe one day we will see a good film based on a good book.
    Has a good film ever made you want to read the book?
    Sincerely, no it hasn’t, because if I have seen the film I’m not interested in reading the book.
    And concerning to the film you’ve suggested, it seems interesting but it’s not a film I would like to see.

  14. xiscamiguel says:

    ■Do you feel the same way? Are you reluctant to see a film if you have previously read the book?
    Yes!! I tried to read ”The lord of the rings” becase my big brother recommended me, and it was impossible to read for me, very extensive with a lot of boring descriptions and I couldn’t finish it. However when I saw the film I really really loved it

    • xiscamiguel says:

      - Have you ever tried going to Amazon and read a couple of pages of a book you are interested in?
      I have never tried see books in this page because I always use to see the firsts chapters of books in primeraspaginas.com but sometimes is incomplete. From now i use Amazon, i think it’s better

      • mloredo says:

        I’ve never tried primeraspaginas.com, I will check. I read the Lord of the Rings 30 years ago, I think I would not be able to read it again. The hobbit is much shorter and easier to read, but you’ve got to like that kind of literature.
        Try to use capital letters for “I” and check the spelling.
        Aren’t there any good films or books you could suggest?

      • xiscamiguel says:

        I think that I’m a good book reader, but since I started bachillerato I don’t have time for read, only in holidays. I read these books before see the movie and I think that are good films:” Memoirs of a Geisha”, ”Perfume: The Story of a Murderer”, ”Bridget Jones’s Diary”, ”The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants”, ”The Devil Wears Prada”, Federico Moccia books..
        And I read ”Bridge to Terabithi”,”Eragon” ”The Twilight Saga” and I felt disappointed with films. Is curious that I read all Narnia books but I only have seen the first movie of the saga, and I don’t know why.

  15. alberco says:

    I’m the worst example of a good book reader. I just read the books that we’re ordered to read. Why? Because I love too much films, and because I’m not enough patient to read and read for hours. I get bored too quickly and they don’t usually capture me at all.

    As Elena did, I also read “The boy in the striped pyjamas” a few years ago, in 4th ESO. I really loved the book (which is quite unusual, coming from me). And some months later I read it, the film arrived to Spain. The whole class was glad at this fact, but I was a bit nervous because I didn’t want the film to destroy that fantastic book. Well, it didn’t. I found the movie great.

    Although I’ve just read one or two books of the Harry Potter’s saga, I know that books are such a master piece compared to the movies that Hollywood is extracting from them.

    I’m not very interested in that film you mention, María, since it is a love story. It is original that it is based in Japan, so it may not be the classical American couple with a happy end. But I wouldn’t watch the film indeed. (Even less, the book…)

    I hope that some day I’ll like to read books, on my free time… It really developes your mind and relaxes you.

    • mloredo says:

      Well, I guess there’s nothing wrong in not reading books. Reading is something you can not be forced to do. What about non fiction, have you ever tried?
      What made you like that book you read in 4 year ESO?

      • alberco says:

        Well, I’ve had to read many books during 4 years at school, but there were a few that I particulary liked. “The boy in the stryped pijamas”, for example, has a feature that really touches me inside when I’m reading a book: it is the narrator. In this book, the narrator is a child, who’s living in the Second World War BUT he is German, not jewish nor polish (which usually is the perspective we have about the Second World War). The fact that the narrator is a child, also introduces into a… kind of naive, innocent mind. He doesn’t know everything about what is happening in that moment, so you don’t neither! That’s what I admire of this book.

        Another book I enjoyed in 4th ESO is “The curious incident of the dog in the night-time”, which is (for me) even more interesting. In this case, the narrator is an autistic teenager, that lives with his father (her mother died). Nevertheless, this boy is very clever and loves to investigate, emulating his adored Sherlock Holmes.
        —————————————————-
        About reading nonfiction books, I guess they would like me more than easy love stories do, but you know, I’m not into reading books, so… But I swear someday I’ll try! haha

  16. ■Do you feel the same way? Are you reluctant to see a film if you have previously read the book?
    No, I think that the book is always better than a film. With the book you can imagine the things whatever you want to be.
    ■Do you think a good book can be turned into a good film? I think this may be possible but has not occurred yet.
    ■Have you ever felt disappointed after watching a film based on a book you liked?
    Yes, for example I read the book “El niño con el pijama de rayas” and I love it, but when I watched the film I felt really disappointed.
    ■Has a good film ever made you want to read the book?
    Yes. I watched the film “Posdata: te quiero” and I want to read the book

    • mloredo says:

      Have you read Cristina’s comment? She loved the book and was disappointed with the film.
      Don’t you have any suggestions ? Can’t you think of a good romantic film to recommend your classmates?

  17. Have you ever felt disappointed after watching a film based on a book you liked?
    Yes, some years ago I read the book “Posdata te quiero” and after reading it, I watched that film and I felt quite disappointed. I think generally books are better than films. And, I also felt disappointed when after reading the book called “Diario de un skin” I watched the film because book and film are very differents.

    Has a good film ever made you want to read the book?
    Yes, last year my sister recommend me to watch the film called “Cometas en el cielo” and I loved it so I decided to read that book.

    In my opinion, when you read a book and then watch the film based in that book you usually feel disappointment.

    Which book or film dealing with romance and love would you recommend to your friends?
    Doubtless I recommend you to read the book “Cometas en el cielo”. It is a story of two parents, two child and their friendship. Two child who are inseparables but in spite of the friendship between whom, one of them betray to the other and that is the reason of their apart. Then, the young Amir will always remember the days when he lost his treasure: friendship.

    • I did not want to say “between whom”. I wanted to say: “between them”, sorry.

      • mloredo says:

        Cristina, thanks for your suggestions! You have written a very interesting comment. Regarding accuracy, there are a couple of mistakes I’m sure you can correct. Adjectives have no plural in English, so go over your text and spot the ones you have written with “s”. Then, remember “child” is a singular noun, I bet you know what the pural is. Correct that error too.
        You used correctly “In spite of “their friendship. No need to say between them.
        I have not seen “Cometas en el cielo” you might want to do a review for us during lessons.

      • I’ve seen the film of Cometas en el Cielo and I think it’s fantastic!

    • Some mistakes: child-children, differents-different, inseparables-inseparable.

Leave a Reply

